Concerning Strangers, Photography, and Otters

Hello friends, family, and perfect strangers who’ve somehow ended up here through the whirlpool of the ‘Net –

As many of you know, I’m going to be gone for quite a bit this summer. Rather than catch you all at church and blather about unintelligibly about things through a jet-lagged haze, I figured it’d be best to keep you all in the loop right here in mostly real time. I really look forward to sharing these adventures with you – I love traveling, but staying in touch with the home front is important to me too. But first, before we get to the fun stuff, I’d like to make a few requests:

1. Let’s make this a two-way street. I started this thing and waded through WordPress’s myriad of options (so. many. themes.) because I’m really going to miss you all. Please comment, post updates on how you and your families are doing, and interact with me!

2. Let’s not even pretend I’m a photographer. I don’t even own a DSLQX7C to even try. I’ve got an iPhone and the gall to pirate my family’s cameras. I can guarantee you that many of these photos are going to be blurry, badly-framed, and maybe a little strange. The point of this blog is to show you what I see; I’ll do my best but please bear with me.

3. Let’s play nice. Perfect strangers who’ve somehow ended up here through the whirlpool of the ‘Net, I’m mostly looking at you all here. I know enough about the world of blogs (and humans in general) to know that people can get highly opinionated, and let’s be honest, pretty testy online. That’s okay – somewhere else. This is a personal blog intended primarily to share my experiences with my friends and family back home, and to be pretty silly along the way. If you’re somehow entertained, great, but I’m not into politics or religious debates, and I will not engage you if you bring them up. If you’re interested in arguing, please take it somewhere else.

Thanks for reading! And now, my favorite photo of the day, just to give you an idea of what you’re in for here:

Adorable Otter
from acidcow.com

You’re welcome.

P. S. Liftoff to Korea is in T minus 18 hours! GAK.

Leave a Reply

